I Know What I Have Given You, I Know Not What You Received…

“I know what I have given you, I know not what you have received.”

The best part of grading  report cards is discovering what kids actually learned and understood from my instruction and what I need to reteach. I am especially proud of my students’ writing prompts. They are passionate little writers (they were writing about saving endangered animals) and grading their informational writing has made me proud.

Sometimes, their voice really cracks me up…like the student who writes in her conclusion…”Once you heard all about poaching, habitat loss, and predators you are crying your eyes out. But you can help. Here are some ways…

I hope that next year, my students will join me and take the challenge next year!

8 thoughts on “I Know What I Have Given You, I Know Not What You Received…

  1. I’m so glad you started it with: “The best part of grading report cards is discovering what kids actually learned and understood from my instruction and what I need to reteach.” So many times, I’ve heard teachers (myself included) complain during report card time, the grading, “crunch time,” and the stress. This is a great reminder of how grateful and positive we should be to see the fruits of our labor! Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

  2. I understand why we do report cards (although I hate our district format, which shifted to standards and has confused many parents with its complexities) but would rather be reading student writing for the sake of the writing rather than putting marks into the system for the files. Still, your comment about using the report cards to show progress … that is really what they should be about.
    Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

