Ed-gineer

I spent the day immersed in science and engineering practices at the MSTA conference in Novi. I LOVE learning as much as I can as fast as I can. One of the things that impressed me the most was the emphasis on engineering. It emphasizes and encourages creative thinking, perseverance, analysis, collaboration, redesigning, and inquiry. When I looked at this presentation slide, “We use the term ‘engineering’ in a very broad sense to mean any engagement in a systematic practice of design to achieve solutions to particular human problem,” I felt like I am an Ed-gineer…after all, I design curriculum to match what my students need, keeping in mind their interests, talents, learning styles, abilities, and content…and when I “test” it out, I may have to redesign to either challenge or re-mediate for students to optimize their learning.

I think my next business card will read: Joanne Rowe, Ed-gineer

Looking forward to another packed day of learning!

2 thoughts on “Ed-gineer

Leave a Reply

