Just Say No

I went to the Michigan Science Teachers Association Conference this weekend.

The presentations on the whole were excellent!

When I attend a conference, I typically attend every single session possible…I am passionate about learning…

However, there was this one session…

The theory behind the session was great…it had to do with creating a script and having kids act out some concepts about science…The presenter asked for volunteers to wear costumes and act out her play.

Just this once…I did not want to volunteer to act it out…she asked for about 9 volunteers…just this once I wanted to volunteer to be the audience…really…just this one time…The presenter begged and cajoled…and I held out…one by one participants reluctantly volunteered…it was painful…but I held on…just this one time, I thought…I did not want to be a seed, or a flower, or a watering can…just this once…

But when she asked for the ninth volunteer…the room went silent. I tried to hold out…I lowered my eyes and tried to become invisible…still silence…she was begging…I couldn’t hold on…slowly, reluctantly, I walked up and put on the bee costume…I stood there for a while…until my friend signaled me…it was time for our next session…and I wasn’t going to be late…so I gave the bee costume to the flower…and swiftly ran out of the room to my next session.

Well…I couldn’t say no to the presenter…but I did say yes to my next session.

 

2 thoughts on “Just Say No

Leave a Reply

